Your current location:Conferences


ICOM 2013 in Rio(8)

Concerned about the diminishing resources for the maintenance and development of museums including the closure of museums in different parts of the world;

Noting that neither culture nor museums are recognised appropriately in the outcomes document, ‘The Future We Want’ from the Rio+20 Summit in June 2012 and the subsequent UN deliberations in 2013, especially by the Economic and Social Council of the UN in Geneva;

Supporting The Hangzhou UNESCO Declaration ‘Placing Culture at the Heart of Sustainable Development Policies’ (17 April, 2013).

It is recommended by the 28th General Assembly of ICOM on 17 August, 2013 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, that the Executive Council:

Takes strategic leadership in the drafting of the Sustainable Development Goals to ensure that museums are located in the post 2015 Development Agenda;
Promotes the valuing of museums through social, economic, cultural and environmental indicators of development through a policy framework by the end of 2014;
Establishes a strong and effective campaign through all the Committees, Alliances and other organs and partners of ICOM for the sustainable development of museums, including the safeguarding of collections during economic crisis;
Advocates with UN and UNESCO for an UN International Year for Museums

NB: Drafted based on the submission of ICOM Europe on 11 August, 2013 based on the Lisbon Declaration, 6 April, 2013 to be made available on the ICOM webpage together with relevant recent documents on sustainable development of culture in the international arena.

The members of the Resolutions Committee for the 2013 Rio General Conference are: 
Amareswar GALLA, Australia/India, Chairperson; Chedlia ANNABI, Tunisia, Member; Elizabeth DUGGAL, Co-Chair ICOM USA, Member; Samuel Fernando FRANCO ARCE, Chair ICOM Guatemala, Member; Lothar JORDAN, Germany, Chair of ICLM, Member; Léontine MEIJER VAN MENSCH, Netherlands, Chair of COMCOL, Member; Eiji MIZUSHIMA, Japan, Member.
Ex officio members: Hans-Martin HINZ, Germany, ICOM President; Hanna PENNOCK, Netherlands, ICOM Director General a.i.